Beauty

Skincare Favourites

Skin has always been a big thing for me. For a long time I was very self-conscious of spots and put lots of make-up on in an effort to conceal them. Now, I look back on that and realise that by putting on more make-up, it was actually emphasising problem areas and in the long run, just making my skin more congested than ever. Over time, my skin has cleared up and this means that I want to take the best possible care of it in order to keep it looking fresh and clean. I don’t use these products everyday, as some of them are more expensive than other products within my skincare regime, however, they really stand out and I can see how effective they are when I use them.

  1. Oskia Renaissance Cleansing Gel – £29.50 (100ml)
    This is one that I heard about from reading Anna from Vivianna Does Makeup‘s blog. I’ve read so many reviews on why it’s a cult product and came close to purchasing it on so many occasions before restraining myself because of the price, it ain’t cheap. As a result, I popped this one on my christmas list and was so thrilled when I actually received it. As the name suggests, it is a cleansing gel that transforms into an oily consistency as you use it. The oil breaks down any make-up and draws out impurities leaving you with the softest, cleanest feeling skin ever.
  2. Origins Drink-Up Intensive Overnight mask – £23.00 (100ml)
    I’m a massive fan of face masks and I usually use them when I’m going all out and pampering myself. This mask however, is a little different. It is an overnight mask which sounds odd and at first made me feel quite uncomfortable to be honest as I pictured my pillow being covered in product. My opinion was changed after first applying the product as it’s actually more of a heavy duty moisturiser rather than a mask that sits on top of the skin. It sinks in really quickly and when I wake up the next morning my skin feels so hydrated and more plump. It also smells of peaches which is a massive plus for me.
  3. Sephora sheet mask – $6
    I picked this up on a recent trip to New York (I blogged about my trip in two parts Travel: New York Part 1. & Travel: New York Part 2. Got to love self-promo). I am going to put it out there that when you have this on you will resemble hannibal lecter and I wouldn’t advise that you wear it in front of small children, but other than that it’s great. There are a number of different masks for different skin concerns, I bought two of the rose ones and also picked up a pearl one for my mum. The masks feel so cooling on the skin and are really relaxing. My mum suffers from really sensitive skin but loved hers and had no complaints which shows that they’re really gentle. The only negative about this product would be that I didn’t stock up due to them only being available in Sephora stores. BRING SEPHORA TO THE UK I BEG.
  4. Pixi Glow Tonic – £18.00 (250ml)
    Last but by no means least, is my favourite exfoliating product. Before using this, I had used physical exfoliants which usually contain micro-beads. As a result, exfoliating my skin was never an essential part of my skincare routine because I personally don’t like the feel of rubbing the beads on my face as it can be quite abrasive, not to mention the bright red appearance it would give me for ages after. This product is a chemical exfoliant as it contains glycolic acid which is a gentle acid that dissolves dead skin cells which are clinging to the skin’s surface. It also contains Aloe Vera which soothes and hydrates as well as Ginseng which promotes cell health and skin vibrancy. It all sounds very impressive and it is. I exfoliate using the tonic around 2 times a week (before I go to bed) and the next day my make-up goes on so smoothly and other products such as my moisturiser seem to sink in more quickly. I wouldn’t be without it.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and I’d love to hear what your skincare favourites are!

L x

You can also find me on:

Bloglovin’ Instagram Twitter

Standard

10 thoughts on “Skincare Favourites

Leave a Reply

