Beauty

The Miracle Base: NARS Sheer Glow

DSC03156DSC03137DSC03158

Finding the right foundation can feel really daunting and overwhelming, especially when first starting out with make-up. I’m not entirely sure what my first foundation was but I’m pretty convinced it was Dream Matte Mousse and I can tell you now, I went TO TOWN with plastering that all over my face… in the wrong colour obviously. I viewed foundation as the way to cover absolutely everything in a way that made me look like I was actually wearing a mask. It covered everything, but didn’t look smooth or natural and you couldn’t see any of my actual skin through it which is a shame! There’s a difference between full coverage foundations (which I still love) and slapping so much product on that it just looks a bit odd.

Experimenting is all part of it. I’ve tried loads of foundations but finally feel like I’ve found the perfect one for everyday – NARS Sheer Glow. Initially, I thought that it wouldn’t be my kind of foundation, as the name suggests it would be ‘sheer’ and the ‘glow’ made me picture a really dewy finish. It is however, referring to a sheer glow that it gives the skin and so it doesn’t compromise on its coverage.

Sheer Glow is a medium coverage foundation but it could be built up to a full coverage as it feels light on the skin but has really high pigmentation. This is also really beneficial as it means that you don’t need to use as much product and so the bottle lasts me for absolutely ages, plus, saving product means saving money which is fine by me. I would say that it has a Satin finish which I prefer over a completely matte one (as this can look really flat) or a really dewy one (which can look quite oily and not have as much staying power). I apply it with either the Real Techniques expert face brush which is good for blending the product in whilst still giving a really good coverage, or I’ll use a damp Beauty Blender/Real Techniques sponge which gives a more natural coverage and then just apply concealer to any areas that need some extra attention.

There is one negative of this foundation… it doesn’t come with a pump and so you have to buy one separately at an extra £3 (annoying when you’ve already forked out £31). You can use the foundation without a pump but this means having to pour it out onto your hand which can mean that you waste a lot and also want to cry when it comes flying out at the speed of light onto your cream carpet *eye twitches*. For me, I just think it’s weird that a ‘high-end’ foundation doesn’t come with a pump included when you’re paying a premium price, sort it out NARS, you little sneaks.

Overall though, I do love this foundation and feel that it’s perfect for everyday wear. The high pigmentation means that you don’t need to use as much and so even though I’m wearing it everyday (that I wear make-up) it lasts me a really long time.

What is your miracle base product?

L x

Bloglovin’|Instagram|Twitter

Standard

2 thoughts on “The Miracle Base: NARS Sheer Glow

Leave a Reply

